Home Insider State and Regional Chief Ministers Appointed

State and Regional Chief Ministers Appointed

March 30 – Names of regional and state chief ministers have been confirmed in the State and Regional Hluttaw. The President-elect made a proposal of the names of the State and Regional Chief Ministers and the MPs of the Regional and State Hluttaws approved the list during their assembly held on March 28, 2016. The list is as follows:

 No Name of State and Regional Name Name of Chief Ministers
 1  Kachin State  Dr.Khet Aung
 2  Kayah State  L Phaung Sho
 3  Kayin State  Nann Khin Htway Myint
 4  Chin State  Salai Lian Lwal
 5  Sagaing Region  Dr Myint Naing
 6  Taninthayi Region  Dr Lei Lei Maw
 7  Bago Region  Win Thein
 8  Magwe Region   Dr Aung Moe Nyo
 9  Mandalay Region  Dr Zaw Myint Maung
 10  Mon State  Min Min Oo
 11  Rakhine State  Nyi Pu
 12  Yangon Region  Phyo Min Thein
 13  Shan State   Dr Lin Htut
 14  Ayeyawady Region   Mahn Johnny

The State and Regional Chief Minister serves as the chief executive of each of the respective state or regional governments of Myanmar. According to the Constitution of Myanmar, the Chief Minister is responsible for forming the state and regional governments and for signing and promulgating bills approved by the State and Regional Hluttaws.

Chief Ministers must be at least 35 years old and meet the qualifications of Pyithu Hluttaw representatives. Under the terms of the 2008 constitution, the president has the sole authority to appoint chief ministers of states and regions. The affirmed regional chief ministers of 14 states and region comprise of two ladies and twelve men. The two taw to protest his appointment. ANP has been the party that had won the most number of parliament seats in the Rakhine State. As the regional Chief Ministers, they will receive 30 Lakhs kyats monthly salary, four vehicles with four drivers including 6o petrol gallons for each vehicle per month and vehicle maintenance free of charge. Accomodation in Chief Minister residence will be provided free of charge with free utilities and medical benefits added in. In addition, they will be provided with a personal assistant, four house maids,and security guards. Yangon Chief Minister Phyo Min Thein said, “I’m going to strive in my great effort to fulfill the public needs and I’m going to resolve all the issues including traffic congestion, flooding, unemployment and garbage collection.” Among those Chief Ministers, the Chief Minister of the Mon State, Min Min Oo, becomes the youngest as he has just turned into the age of 45. Chief Minister of Yangon Region, Phyo Min Thein becomes the second youngest Chief Minister, at the age of 47.

The new Chief Minister of Ayeyarwaddy Region, Mahn Johnny Ni declared that eliminating briberies common today will be his very first priority. He also said that if the Ayeyarwaddy Region wants to be developed, the idea and thought of the people has to come around first. The rule of law applied has to be linear across the public, government staff and the governors.