Home Insider Myanmar Welcomes a New President

Myanmar Welcomes a New President

March 15 – Htin Kyaw, NLD party’s candidate as well as Pyithu Hluttaw’s presidential candidate, was elected as a Myanmar 9th president with 360 votes out of 626 in the two houses of Parliment. Myint Swe, submitted by the representatives of the Tatmadaw (the Armed Forces), will be first Vice President with 213 votes. Henry Van Thio, the NLD’s other candidate, will be second vice president with 79 votes. Those three will serve as leaders for the next five-year term of Myanmar’s government.

Htin Kyaw has become the 9th Head of State following those listed as below, since Myanmar independence:

 Name Term of Office
 Sao Shwe Theik  4.1.1988 to 12.3.1952
 Dr Ba Oo  13.3.1957 to 2.3.1962
 Win Maung@ Mahn Win Maung  2.3.1974 to 9.11.1981
 Nay Win  9.11.1981 to 25.7.1988
 San Yu  27.7.1988 to12.8.1988
 Dr.Maung Maung  19.8.1988 to 18.9.1988
Thein Sein  30.3.2010 to 30.3.2016

Htin Kyaw was born on July 20 1946 in Konchangon. He is son of late poet, writer and scholar Min Thu Won, an elected a National League Democracy (NLD) Member of Parliament in 1999. He got married to Su Su Lwin, daughter of U Lwin, a former deputy Prime Minister of Burma Socialist Programme Party (BSPP) regime as well as co-founder of NLD. Htin Kyaw is also a writer, writing under the pen name Dala Ban, a famous Mon warrior. He has written a biographical book about his father Min Thu Wun.

Htin Kyaw will be the first civilian president for over 50 years. He graduated with a Master in Economics specialized in statistics in 1968. He then moved to University Computer Center as programmer/system analyst in 1970. He pursued further studies with the Institute of Computer Science, University of London in 1971–1972 and in Arthur D. Little School of Management in Cambridge, Massachusetts in 1987. Currently, He has been working as an Executive Committee Member at Daw Khin Kyi (mother of Aung San Su Kyi) Foundation.

Ministries Restructured

March 17 – Htin Kyaw, the new president, restructured the existing government ministries from 36 to 21 as follows:

 Old Ministries New Ministries
 1  Ministry of Foreign Affairs 1  Ministry of Foreign Affairs
 2  Ministry of Agriculture and Irrigation  2  Ministry of Agriculture and livestock and Irrigartion
 3  Ministry of Livestock, fisheries and Rural Development
 4  Ministry of Co-operative
 5  Ministry of Transport  3  Ministry of Transport and Communication
 6  Ministry of Rail Transport
 7  Ministry of Communication and Information Technology
 8  Ministry of Culture  4  Ministry of Religious Affairs and Culture
 9  Ministry of Religious Affairs
10  Ministry of Enviromental Conservation and Forestry  5  Ministry of Natural Resources and Enviromental Conservation
 11  Ministry of Mines
 12  Ministry of Electric Power  6  Ministry of Electric Power and Energy
 13  Ministry of Energy
 14  Ministry of Labour, Employment and Social Security  7  Ministry of Labor, Immigration and Population
 15  Ministry of Immigration and Population
 16  Ministry of National Planning and Economic Development  8  Ministry of Planning Finance
 17  Ministry of Finance
 18  Ministry of Industry  9  Ministry of Industry
 19  Ministry of Health  10  Ministry of Health
 20  Ministry of Sport
 21  Ministry of Education  11  Ministry of Education
 22  Ministry of Science and Technology
 23  Ministry of Construction  12  Ministry of Construction
 24  Ministry of Social Welfare, Relief and Resettlement  13  Ministry of Social Welfare, Relief and Resettlement
 25  Ministry of Hotels and Tourism  14  Ministry of Hotels and Tourism
 26  Ministry of Commerce  15  Ministry of Commerce
 27  Ministry of Information  16  Ministry of Information
 28  Ministry of President Office- 1  17  Ministry of President Office
 29  Ministry of President Office-2
 30  Ministry of President Office-3
 31  Ministry of President Office-4
 32  Ministry of President Office-5
 33  Ministry of President Office-6
 34  Ministry of Home Affairs  18  Ministry of Home Affairs
 35  Ministry of Defence  19  Ministry of Defence
 36  Ministry of Border Affairs  20  Ministry of Border Affairs
 21  Ministry of Ethnic Affairs

The six ministries under the President Office will be combined into one. Ministry of Ethnic Affairs will be a new ministry.
Htin Kyaw’s First Cabinet of April 2016 will be as follows:

No Office Name
1   Ministry of Foreign Affair  H.E. Aung San Su Kyi
 2  Ministry of President’s Office
 3  Ministry of Education
 4  Ministry of Electric Power and Energy
 5  Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock and Irrigation  H.E. Dr Aung Thu
 6  Ministry of Transport and communication  H.E. Thant Sin Maung
 7  Ministry of Religious Affairs and Culture  H.E. Thura Aung Ko
 8  Ministry of Natural Resources and Environmental Conservation  H.E. Ohn Win
 9  Ministry of Labor, Immigration and Population  H.E. Thein Swe
 10  Ministry of Planning and Finance  H.E. Kyaw Win
 11  Ministry of Industry  H.E. Khin Maung Cho
 12  Ministry of Health  H.E. Dr Myint Htwe
 13  Ministry of Construction  H.E. Win Khine
 14  Ministry of Social Welfare, Relief and Resettlement  H.E. Dr Win Myat Aye
 16  Ministry of Hotels and Tourism  H.E. Ohn Maung
 17  Ministry of Commerce  H.E. Dr Than Myint
 18  Ministry of Information  H.E. Dr Pe Myint
 19  Ministry of Ethnic Affairs  H.E. Naing Thet Lwin
 20  Ministry of Home Affairs  H.E. Lit General Kyaw Swe
 21  Ministry of Border Affairs  H.E. Lit General Ye Aung