Home Insider Tenth Tun Foundation Literary Award

Tenth Tun Foundation Literary Award

J anuary 23- The Tenth Tun Foundation Literary Award ceremony was held at the building of Myanmar Banks Association. The evaluating committee gives out awards for twelve categories for work in Myanmar Language, six English-language books and seven menuscripts.

Winner for books in 2015 are Thet Tun U (Economy), Dr Hlwan Moe Han (Health), Min Bu Aung Kyaine (History), Thakhin Tin Mya (Biography), Tin Yee-archeologist (Culture), Taung Khoe (Reference), Win Kyaw (Enviroment), Maung Moe Hlaingthitsar myay (Children Literature), Aye Phyu (Teenage Literature), Myint Mo Swe (Knowledge), Professor Hla Tun Aung (Knowledge in English Language) and Hein Latt (Translated book). Historian and writer Thant Myint-U wrote Where China meets India: Burma and the New Crossroads of Asia in English. Furthermore, Tun Foundation granted life-time literacy awards to Myint Kyi, San Lwin and U Tin Kha.

The purpose of this literary award is to promote development of Myanmar literature and encourage and motivate the authors to write more. Tun foundation awarded approximately $2,000 for life-time literacy award and $ 1500 each for awards.

Tun Foundation Bank was established in 1994 by Thein Tun, the Chairman of the MGS Group of companies. From an initial branch in Yangon it has expanded across the country, including the main cities of Mandalay and Naypyitaw. The bank currently has 14 branches.

The Bank is a normal private bank and run on strictly commercial terms. However, unusually for a bank, the shareholders have chosen to give out the majority of its profits to charity. The focus for the charity is on Education and Health and includes a charitable hospital and many schools, set up and funded by the Chairman.