Home Insider Insider News E-visa Holders Now Able to Enter Country Through Three Cities on Thai...

E-visa Holders Now Able to Enter Country Through Three Cities on Thai Border

Last month, the Ministry of Immigration and Population began allowing tourists from 100 countries holding electronic visas to enter Myanmar through three cities on the Thai border.

The three cities able to process e-visa holders entering Myanmar include Myawaddy in Karen State, which sits opposite Thailand’s Mae Sot; Tachileik in Shan State, across from Mae Sai in Thailand; and Kawthaung in Tenasserim Division, from Thailand’s Ranong.

The electronic visa application was introduced in 2014 and allowed tourists holding “e-visas” to enter the country only via airports in Yangon, Mandalay or Naypyidaw; the business e-visa was introduced the following year with the same restrictions. The application process for e-visas remains the same; now, however, it is open to both tourist and business e-visa holders.

E-visa applicants are required to fill out an online visa form, verify that all the information entered is correct and make an online credit card payment. Applicants then receive a visa approval letter via email and are then eligible to have their passport stamped upon arrival by presenting a print-out of the electronic approval letter.